VHF/GMDSS Short Range Radio Course

Licence to use your VHF radio.

Marine Radio Training Cornwall

It is a legal requirement and worthwhile to have a personal licence if you are going out on the water and have a VHF radio. On this course you will be using, and talking about the latest in fixed and handheld VHF (Very High Frequency) and DSC (Digital Selective Calling) radio units. You will learn about the correct channel usage, the correct Safety, Urgent and Distress procedures to use, and what is meant by GMDSS (Global Marine Distress and Safety System) and how it can help you out on the water. On completion of this course, you will be awarded your Licence. The Short Range Certificate (SRC) is the operators licence required for Class D radios, the type fitted to most leisure craft. The SRC is not suitable for those working on larger commercial craft, where a more advanced qualification is demanded. The SRC is generally accepted internationally for operators on British flagged boat. To operate radios on foreign craft you should contact the appropriate national authority.

Pre course ability required: none

Under 16s are encouraged to attend a course and, if successful, may operate the radio under supervision.

Please contact the school for more information about this one day course.

Dates for 2017

 
 
  • Saturday 25th February
  • Wednesday 1st March
  • Saturday 25th March
  • Wednesday 05th April
  • Saturday 29th April
  • Wednesday 17th May
  • Saturday 27th May
  • Wednesday 14th June
  • Saturday 24th June
  • Wednesday 5th July
  • Saturday 29th July
  • Wednesday 16th August
  • Saturday 26th August
  • Saturday 06th September
  • Wednesday 30th September
  • Wednesday 18th October
  • Saturday 28th October
  • Wednesday 15th November
  • Saturday 25th November
  • Monday 04th December
  • Saturday 16th December